top of page

Blog #4 - Response to Chapter 9


They say, “you are your own worst critique.” I wholeheartedly believe that is true, which is why I ask my friends for help on revising my first draft and find out whether or not I should make the appropriate corrections. I am also the type of person to work on my paper when someone is also working on their own paper because I feel like they understand the level of stress that I am in now. Shortly after I finish my draft, I ask my friends to read my work, however, I only ask friends who critique my work harshly because they will make the necessary corrections to ensure that my work is well written. The reason I ask the advice of those friends is because others will sugarcoat my mistakes and lead me to believe that my work is good the way it is, when it really isn’t and can use further improvement. Moreover, grammar is not my strong suit, so I ask my peers to keep an eye out on that more than anything else in my writing.

In the first pages of chapter nine gives a checklist of things to ask peers on how they can advise the writer on what to add. This checklist is like the one I was given in high school when we used to peer review our writing assignments. The chapter further goes on giving examples on papers and some corrections. At the end the chapter talks about remixing the work with different genres, the book states that writing a new genre gives the writer an opportunity to reach out to different audiences.


bottom of page